Georgia-EU visa-free travel takes effect
28 March, 2017
Visa-free travel for Georgian citizens with the EU has already taken effect. Those having biometric passports will enjoy visa-free travel in Schengen countries for 90 days in a 180-day period.

Visa-free travel implies free travel in the Schengen zone that includes 22 EU member countries, as well as 4 non-member countries and 4 Schengen-candidate states.

Great Britain and Ireland are only exceptions as they maintain visa regime.

Negotiations over Georgia-EU visa free travel were launched on June 4, 2012. On
February 25, 2013 Georgia was given a visa liberalization action plan including benchmarks to be met by the Georgian side. In December 2015 the European Commission assessed Georgia’s actions positively and published a positive recommendation. Afterwards, the EU Parliament and Council of Europe approved Georgia’s visa liberalization.

Prime Minister Giorgi Kviriashvili has traveled visa-free to Athens, the ancient capital city of the European culture, together with students, scientists and reporters, today.

Related stories:

Visa-free travel to EU countries: Must-know tips for Georgian citizens

Countries where Georgian citizens will enjoy visa free travel