Donald Trump signs legislative act recognizing Abkhazia and Tskhinvali as Georgia’s regions occupied by Russia
06 May, 2017
US President Donald Trump has signed a legislative act, which recognizes Georgia’s breakaway territories - Abkhazia and the Tskhinvali region - as regions occupied by Russia;
  • The legislative act imposes restrictions on any US funding of a state that does not recognize the territorial integrity of Georgia;
  • Prohibits US representatives in the international financial institutions from supporting programs that violate Georgia's territorial integrity and sovereignty;
  • Provides additional assistance to the Eastern Partnership countries to tackle Russian aggression and to support the implementation of the Association Agreement and Free Trade Agreement.

According to Georgian Foreign Minister Mikheil Janelidze, the abovementioned is unprecedented support for Georgia's territorial integrity, sovereignty and the non-recognition policy.

US President Donald Trump has signed the legislative act yesterday. Prior to that, the document was supported by the House of Representatives and the Senate.