Ireland recognizes Georgia as safe country
01 May, 2018
The Republic of Ireland has put Georgia on a list of safe countries. As reported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia, the decision was made by the Ministry of Justice of Ireland.

Ireland is the ninth country that has made similar decision in relation to Georgia. The countries which have already added Georgia in the list of safe countries are: Luxemburg, Belgium, Netherlands, France, Bulgaria, Lichtenstein, Austria and Iceland.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs states that this decision once again
demonstrates the recognition of the protection of fundamental human rights through democratic reforms by western partners in Georgia.

Georgia has been recognized as a safe country by Luxembourg, Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Bulgaria, Austria, Liechtenstein and Iceland.

The decision of the Republic of Ireland took effect on 16 April.

Related stories:

Luxemburg recognizes Georgia as safe country

Germany discussing the issue of listing Georgia into safe countries

Department of State included Georgia among safest countries to travel

Georgia has the lowest anti-corruption index in the region